SLIS Jobline Your Source for Professional, Pre-Professional, and Internship Positions

Call for Proposals: Sixth North American Symposium on Knowledge Organization (NASKO 2017)

Call for Participation (NASKO 2017)

Visualizing Knowledge Organization: Bringing Focus to Abstract Realities

ISKO C/US invites submissions of abstracts for its Sixth North American Symposium on Knowledge Organization (NASKO 2017) to be held June 15-16, 2017, in Champaign, IL, USA.

Conference Venue: the iSchool at Illinois, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Deadline for Proposals: February 20, 2017

Knowledge organization and the systems that constitute its primary products seek to to make abstractions of knowledge concrete. Visualization is an increasingly popular way to create pictorial representations of knowledge using diverse methodologies, which seek to aid in the clarity of the comprehension and understanding of knowledge abstractions and their organization in knowledge space. Also, metaphorical "visualization" can involve the use of diverse methodologies to focus and enhance breadth of viewpoints in knowledge space. The Sixth North American Symposium on Knowledge Organization (NASKO 2017) invites participants to bring forth approaches to visualizing knowledge, knowledge organization, and knowledge organization systems.

Possible topics to explore include: theory of KO, history and foundations of KO, legacy and emerging KOSs, epistemological stances in KO, visual approaches to KO, domain analytical approaches to KO, cultural approaches to KO, sustainability and KO, the future of KO, and anything else.

Proposals for research papers, position papers, posters, and a doctoral symposium are welcomed. Acceptable languages for conference submissions include English, French, or Spanish. Graduate students are especially encouraged to submit proposals. Proposals should include the name(s) of the author(s), their complete mailing and e-mail addresses, and their telephone numbers. The title of the proposal should include a term denoting the category of submission: Paper, Poster, Doctoral Symposium.

All proposals should be uploaded to the EasyChair conference site:


Proposal categories:

Research and Position Papers: Proposals should include a title and be no more than 1500 words with citations (citations not included in word count). Proposals should situate themselves within the extant literature of knowledge organization, and have a clearly articulated theoretical grounding and methodology. Those that report on completed or ongoing work will be given preference. Diverse perspectives and methodologies are welcome.

Posters: Proposals should include a title and be no more than 500 words with citations (citations not included in word count).

Doctoral Symposium: This is an opportunity for doctoral students to discuss their research in progress in a 15-minute presentation. Proposals should consist of a 500-word abstract with citations (citations not included in word count) and a one-page CV. Students will also have the opportunity to attend a general advising session to discuss their CVs, service commitments, and the job market. Students accepted into the doctoral symposium will have their conference registration fees waived.

Publication: All accepted papers will be published online. The papers most highly-ranked during the peer-review process will, with permission of the authors, be published, in full, in a future issue of Knowledge Organization.


Important Dates


February 1, 2017: Submission deadline.

March 6, 2017: Notification to authors.

April 1, 2017: Final copy submission.


Bursaries for students


ISKO C/US will offer a limited number of bursaries for students presenting at the conference. Application guidelines will appear on the ISKO C/US website later this year:


Planning Committee

Kathryn La Barre, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Thomas Dousa, University of Chicago

Patrick Keilty, University of Toronto

Barbara Kwasnik, University of Syracuse

Hur-Li Lee, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee

Richard Smiraglia, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Laura Ridenour, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee



Program Committee

Richard Smiraglia, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, co-chair

Laura Ridenour, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, co-chair



Ann Graf, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Athena Salaba, Kent State University

Daniel Martínez Ávila, Universidade Estadual Paulista - UNESP

Christina Pattuelli, Pratt University

Dagobert Soergel, University at Buffalo

Eva Hourihan Jansen, University of Toronto

Gercina Lima, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerai

Hur-Li Lee, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee

Jane Greenberg, Drexel University

Jonathan Furner, University of California Los Angeles

Karen Snow, Dominican University

Lynne Howarth, University of Toronto

Marcia Zeng, Kent State University

Rachel Clarke, University of Syracuse

Sandy Roe, Illinois State University

Thomas Dousa, University of Chicago

Rick Szostak, University of Alberta

Melodie Fox, Bryant and Stratton College

Call for Submissions